top of page

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a method developed in Mysore, south of India.

The system was codified by  Sri T.Krishnamacharya and firstly popularised by K. Pattabhi Jois and his grandson R. Sharath Jois. 

Ashtanga means eight limbs or branches. Asana (or posture) is the foundation that purifies and makes the body steady and balanced, creating the proper groundwork for the inner aspects to flourish. 


Vinyasa means to synchronise movements with breath. The breath is indeed the central aspect of the practice, not just providing an effective anchor for the mind but creating an inner heat that supports the detoxification of inner organs, joints and tissues. 


The term "Mysore style" designates a type of class where the students are expected to gradually memorize a sequence and practice in the pace of their own breath, in the same room as others, developing according to their unique necessities and experience. The role of the teacher is to guide and provide adjustments or assists in the postures.



Sri T. Krishnamacharya
R. Sharath Jois and  Pattabhi Jois
Sri Tirumalai Krishnamacharya
R. Sharath Jois and Pattabhi Jois
bottom of page